The New New York Academy of Circus Arts

Since Monday I’ve been in New York.

I love New York. I don’t love old York but I’ve only been there once and that was when I was about 11. (We went to the Jorvic Viking Centre for a school trip. I think everyone goes to the Jorvic Viking Centre for a school trip when they’re 11 years old.)

Yesterday afternoon I went into the city and met Susan Voyticky. Susan is an old friend who also went to Circus Space with me in 1999.

Susan took me to New York Circus Arts, which opened in September. As far as I can tell, it’s the only dedicated circus training centre in New York – which is slightly hard to believe! New York is one of the biggest cities in the world but has an incredibly small circus community. New York has a thriving arts scene but hardly any circus.

The first thing that struck me as we walked through Queens was NYCA’s sign that can be seen from the street. For a long time Circus Space has struggled with ways to promote itself but Circus Space’s location is prohibitive for such a prominent sign. NYCA has a location that can accommodate a large outdoor sign that can be seen from a long distance. And it works.

If you’ve been to the Hangar Arts Trust in London it’s fairly similar. NYCA is also in an industrial unit on an industrial estate. It’s one large training space. They have a trampoline with an inflatable pit, a custom-built free-standing arched “spider” rig, a small dance area, and mats covering a large sections of the floor.

As a brand new circus training centre it’s very impressive. Good equipment in a good facility, with some nice touches (a live-feed video setup, anyone?). Perhaps the NYCA is shooting a little high in some areas – they have a ‘gear store’ and their website states “After 10 years in the biz, we’ve learned a few things about gear” – but I think they should be shooting high. At this stage they need to be promoting themselves, swinging out, taking some risks, and making big promises. But then they also need to fulfil them. Nothing good ever came from playing small.

While I was there, the centre seemed under-populated. Perhaps that’s because it’s new, perhaps it’s because NY has a small circus community, perhaps it’s because NYCA’s international reputation is poor. Or rather, the founder’s, Cypher Zero, reputation is poor. I don’t think that being known by “Cypher Zero” really helps him create a credible reputation – regardless of whether it’s his (now) legal name; it seems ostentatious or pretentious. It’s a bump in the road that you have to get past when you first meet him and I don’t think it lends itself to the credibility that he’ll need as a businessman running an arts organisation on the world circus stage (ring?).

However, I’ve met Cypher on a few occasions over the years and he’s never been anything other than affable and enthusiastic.

But in one of the biggest cities in the world, a city with almost no circus, he’s the one man who has taken it upon himself to create a Circus School and raise the level of participation of circus. And perhaps he’s the only man that could.

Who Wants To Try Flying Trapeze?

Tonight New York Circus Arts will be installing their new flying trapeze rig. And, even though the NYCA is not big and has only one training space, they’re installing a Grand Volant (a Big Fly rig). This could be both a good idea and bad.

The bad thing is that it will take up a huge amount of real estate in an already limited training space. The safety net will span the width of the space, interfering with any other training; no other aerial skills (static trapeze, silks, corde lisse, etc) will be able to be rigged while the fly rig is up. And given that no one at NYCA currently flies this could severely interfere with the training of the already limited number of users (professional and recreational) that attend NYCA.

The good thing is that  having a flying trapeze is a huge attraction both for recreational users and corporate training. Without some kind of financial support, corporate events are one of main ways in which training centres such as NYCA can survive and support their other activities.

I’ve been a flyer, I’ve taught flying trapeze, and the only people I’ve ever met who don’t want to try flying are people who are severely scared of heights or are obese and afraid of being able to hold their own weight – and more often than not they really do want to try it and they just can’t conquer their fear. And jugglers.

If NYCA can get a good flying trapeze teacher, some regular and talented students, and sell themselves as a provider of unique and valuable corporate training in NY they could just be on to a winner.

Having this kind of draw could be just the thing that NYCA needs in order to become a mainstay of the NY circus scene, and a financially secure circus training centre with a great reputation.

And I hope it does.

=======================

Follow me on twitter here.

8 thoughts on “The New New York Academy of Circus Arts

  1. Pingback: Thinking About The Future « Adam Cohen

  2. Pingback: NY Circus Arts « Adam Cohen

  3. Just for the record I could name easily half a dozen well-established schools of circus arts in NY off the top of my head:

    LAVA, Ruby Streak Trapeze Studio, Skybox, Streb, Trapeze Loft, Trapeze School NY, Circus Warehouse, etc etc etc

    And that is not even counting the many circus art professionals I know who are talented and credentialed but offer privates only!

    NY has one of the most robust and diverse circus arts communities of any city I know!

    May I ask: when you say, “As far as I can tell, it’s the only dedicated circus training centre in New York” where did your information come from?

    • Thank you!

      It’s brilliant to hear that there are more places than I’d heard of. I will check them out!

      I made my comment based on my time spent in NY, especially from my recent visit there in February, and from my conversations with several circus artists both in NY at the time of my visit and other circus artists who live and perform around the world. As you’ll see from my more recent post (https://iamadamcohen.wordpress.com/2010/10/15/ny-circus-arts/) I do know about Streb, Trapeze School NY and Circus Warehouse (although I’m led to believe that it is the new incarnation of NYACA. Am I wrong?), but I wouldn’t call either of the first two dedicated circus training centres. I think of Streb as more of a centre for artistic physical exploration that includes circus but is not dedicated exclusively to it. Likewise with Trapeze School NY, a dedicated trapeze school but not a dedicated circus training centre. I haven’t had the chance to visit either of them yet, so if I am wrong I am happy to be set straight!

      But perhaps you are right. I don’t live in NY (I haven’t since ’99) and don’t get to spend much time there nowadays; maybe my information was out of date. I’m sure that day by day, month by month and year by year there are more and more circus artists, shows and training spaces. I hope so. By no means did I intend to insult any of the many circus artists that are in NY. And if I overlooked any circus training centres I would love to know about them and will attempt to visit them all next time I am in NY.

      I have been doing circus since I was a small boy and still work in it today. No matter how many circus training centres there are currently around the world I don’t think it’s enough. Until circus is seen as an artform on equal footing with dance, theatre or music, and recognised as a credible physical activity like gymnastics, I think we have further to go.

      Thank you for your comment and for the new places!

  4. Pingback: Another Bloody 2010 in Review « Adam Cohen

  5. Hello Adam-
    I am a grandmother (in my 60’s) and a former competitive ballroom dancer. I have always wanted to learn Aerial Silk, but never have been able to find a place….

    Two questions – do you think I’m too old to try learning the silks??? and….

    Do you know of anywhere in central Florida (I am on the east coast, in Melbourne, a bit south of the Kennedy Space Center) that would be willing to teach a novice?

    Thanks and have a truly awesome day!

    Granny J

    • Hi Granny J,

      I don’t know of anywhere specifically for silks but I know there are some places in Florida for flying trapeze. Circus knows circus so they’d probably be a good first phone call and would probably be able to point you in the direction of silks. Try searching for Peter Gold +trapeze. I can’t remember the name of the school off-hand.

      In terms of fitness, I have no idea. If you’ve got a base level of fitness you’d probably be ok. Either way you’d develop it. I don’t think you’re too old. I know older people who have started training aerial skills.

      Good luck! Let me know how you get on!

      Adam

  6. Pingback: NY Circus Arts - Did the Circus Leave Town? |Airborne Circus

Leave a Reply

