The Gig of The Decade

I’m sitting on the train heading into Penn Station in NY to meet my Uncle Robert.

Robert is giving me my 30th birthday present tonight. He’s taking me to Madison Square Garden to see Eric Clapton and Jeff Beck, one of six gigs around the world (London, USA, Canada) that are being billed as the gig of the decade.

Personally I think it’s a little early in the decade to be making such claims but still…

Now, I’m not massive fan of either Clapton or Beck (truth be told, I hardly know anything of Beck’s) but I like what I know – and I like enough to have some Clapton on my iPhone (which I’m currently listening to) – and I know that this is a gig I shouldn’t miss. There are just some artists that you should see no matter what.

Bob Dylan I’ve seen twice, Michael Jackson, well, I missed the boat on that one.

But not tonight. Tonight I get to see two musical greats.

And celebrate my 30th Birthday with my uncle.

A Small Post-Gig Update

I can now tick two musical greats off my list. But that’s not all. I can now say that I am, in fact, a fan of Jeff Beck. He can REALLY play a guitar! I’m no music critic, or aficionado, so I won’t attempt to write a review of the gig from a musical perspective. What I can tell you is that it was great. Beck’s 45-min set was purely instrumental and included a thoroughly enjoyable cover of the Beatles’ A Day In The Life.

Clapton’s set was half acoustic, casually sitting in a chair centre stage, and half electric. I wish I was a bigger fan as there were not many songs that I knew. No Layla, no Tears In Heaven. He did play Cocaine and Bob Marley’s I Shot The Sheriff which was beautiful.

After Clapton’s set Beck returned to the stage to play a joint set with Clapton, and made Clapton look like an amateur guitarist playing around a campfire. But what a show! Maybe it really will be the Gig of The Decade.



One thought on “The Gig of The Decade

  1. Just saw your blog and know you got it by this line, “After Clapton’s set Beck returned to the stage to play a joint set with Clapton, and made Clapton look like an amateur guitarist playing around a campfire” I saw Jeff Beck play again in July at a smaller venue and he was even better. Been reading up on him this year and he’s been one of the guitarist’s guitarist since the mid 60’s but supposedly he’s a royal pain in the ass and a perfectionst so never got the notatiriety of his peers, Eric Clapton, Jimmy Page and Jimi. Would help his career if he had a vocalist with him but since he split with Rod Stewart there’s been no one consistently. Seems like recently he’s changed in that he’s touring, doing interviews, enjoying it all and building his reputation. Delighted we shared this “Gig of the Decade” for your 30th!

Leave a Reply

