Fit and Healthy?

Going back to what I was talking about in my Original Questions post, one of the things that people often say is “Boy! I bet you have to be really fit and healthy to do what you do!” And the answer is: yes… and no. Let’s start with no…

No

Over the last two years I’ve stopped performing for a couple of reasons. Partly because of injury and partly because my heart was never in performing. Some people live to perform. I could always take it or leave it. My heart was always in teaching. Teaching is a much fuller self expression for me than performing ever was. Ever since I learned to juggle when I was about 10 I started teaching people.

With a bad shoulder it often hurts to train (practice) so you won’t often see me doing acrobatics or flying trapeze anymore. Also, as a teacher, I don’t need to train like I used to.

I’m certainly not as fit as I used to be but I probably have a “base level” of fitness that’s higher than most. And for the teaching I do now I simply don’t need to be as fit as I used to be.

Yes

As a performer, yes, I used to train hard and I was very fit and healthy. My friends who are performers still train hard. (My non-circus friends are sometimes a little intimidated by how strong and fit my circus friends are!)

Nowadays I’m more content with being healthy. I get most of my exercise these days from cycling. I both commute and cycle for fun. This coming weekend I’m doing a Norwood Italian Challenge reunion cycle.

I know I don’t have the healthiest of diets (way too many meals on the go!) so I also take Juice PLUS+® which I discovered in about 2008. It’s a wholefood supplement (pesticide and GMO free) with the juice from 26 different fruits, vegetables and berries.

I wasn’t really into it when I started taking it. I took it on recommendation from my mum because I know I don’t eat enough fruit and veg. But it wasn’t until I started drinking the protein / energy drink that they make, Juice PLUS+® Complete, in the lead up to, and during the Italian Challenge that I really got into it. It didn’t seem to matter how much I trained, how hard I cycled, or how far I went – including 900m elevations gains up Italian mountains – I just didn’t get any fatigue, or muscle soreness after cycling. I wish I’d been taking it when I was still circus training!!

I know I don’t eat enough fruit and veg, and I wish I had the time to eat more healthily. But as much as I know I should do that, I don’t. So Juice Plus is a good way for me to bridge that gap.

Fit and healthy?

So, do I have to be fit and healthy to do what I do? I like to be healthy and I like to be fit, but to do the teaching that I do nowadays, I don’t need to be as strong or fit as I used to be.

====================================================

I tweet as @CircusBoy1. And yes, the 1 is important and intentional.

Learn more about Juice PLUS+®.

One thought on “Fit and Healthy?

  1. Pingback: Completion & Creation: From 2010 to 2011 « Adam Cohen

Leave a Reply

