Completing 2011 & Creating 2012 – Part 1: Completion

In the same vein as last year’s post I’ve been thinking about what I set out to accomplish in 2011, what I’ve actually accomplished, and what I want or am intending to accomplish in 2012. But it goes a little further than just thinking about it. Over this week I’ll actually be completing 2011 and creating 2012 for myself.

Completing 2011

Completion is an act of creation – creating space. It’s acknowledging what you said you’d do, accomplish or produce, and acknowledging what you actually did. It doesn’t matter whether you did what you said you’d do or not or succeeded or failed at accomplishing or producing something. It’s simply an acknowledgement of what you said and what you did. No make wrong, no guilt, no pomp. It completes your promises, puts the past in the past and creates a space for a new future.

Last year I made a new year’s resolution: stop eating when I’m full. At the start of the year it was quite difficult. I don’t like leaving food on my plate, and if I’m eating with other people I feel like I have to keep eating until everything (especially if it’s on my plate) is finished. I don’t like to look like I can’t finish it – as if eating more will prove something. But the more I practised stopping when I was full the easier it got. I can’t say I did it every time but I only over ate 3 or 4 times during the year (including yesterday’s Christmas dinner!) which is good going for me.

Aside from my new year’s resolution – the second contiguous resolution I’ve made in the last 12 years or so – at the beginning of the year I said that 2011 was going to be about:

  • Getting Airborne Circus up and running
  • My Top Secret Muse
  • Buying a house
  • Working daytimes
  • A new relationship

Looking the list now, something I haven’t looked at in over 6 months, I realise that although 2011 has been an excellent year and I’ve been working hard on many of those things, they’re not fully complete.

Airborne Circus

Accomplished. Airborne Circus is up and running. We’ve run several workshops over the year and have more in the pipeline. We’ve also started running weekly classes in partnership with Finchley Youth Theatre and from January we’re planning on running a second session with young people with learning difficulties or disabilities.

The Top Secret Muse

Acted on, not accomplished. Although I did quite a lot of work this in the first quarter of the year, I intentionally chose to shelve this for a while while I worked on other things like Airborne Circus and property.

Buying a house

Acted on, not accomplished. Since the beginning of the year I’ve been plotting and scheming about buying a house. I started last year by meeting with a mortgage broker, and quickly discovered that although I could get a mortgage, I couldn’t afford to buy anything in London (other than perhaps a box next to a crack den in Harlesden). So I set about learning more about property and property investing. If I couldn’t afford to buy my home, maybe I could invest in property and work my way up the property ladder until I could. The more I learned the clearer I got that it was possible for me not only to buy a property but, if done right, potentially to create a passive income from property that would eventually allow me to fulfil on all the other things that I wanted to accomplish – Airborne Circus, the muse, working days instead of evenings, relationships – everything.

But to do it on my own was going to be difficult and would probably take more time than I had to give. So instead I set about creating a partnership with two very close friends and together we’ve been slogging away at property, learning, doing, creating relationships with relevant people (brokers, agents, investors, etc), and have been laying the foundations for us to successfully buy property together. It’s taken most of the year to lay those foundations and get all our duck in a row but as we approach 2012 we’re ready to go and in the first couple of months of 2012 we should have something to show for it.

Working Daytimes

Not acted on, not accomplished. I would like to say that I’m now working daytimes and have my evenings and weekends free but that would be a lie. My work schedule is almost exactly the same but my “free time” has been almost totally consumed by admin for my various jobs, getting Airborne going, and property. So in actual fact I’ve been working more that I used to. But I guess it was always going to get worse before it got better. That’s what’s supposed to happen, right?

A new relationship

Not acted on, not accomplished. Whilst 2009 and 2010 were a virtual relationship drought for me, 2010 has been a bit more interesting. Although I haven’t been in an actual relationship at any point this year, I have (for want of a better phrase) fumbled around and had a couple of short flings. Whilst they don’t constitute a relationship, it does make it look like I may have turned a corner. In the words of Tony, “Something’s coming, I don’t know what it is, But it is Gonna be great!”

There have been lots of other things that have happened this year – some good, some not so good.

Other highlights from 2011

Lowlights from 2011

  • Having the worst term that I’ve ever had at work
  • Falling out with a very close friend

All in all, 2011 has been a pretty great year. I don’t yet know what I’m creating for 2012. Obviously much of it will be related to what I’ve been working on this year but I think I’ll let in brew in my mind for a couple of days before I actually declare anything. I’ll be tweeting my thoughts over the next few days as I’m mulling it all over, so if you’re interested you can join me there.

Read “Completing 2011 & Creating 2012 – Part 2: Creation”

2 thoughts on “Completing 2011 & Creating 2012 – Part 1: Completion

  1. Pingback: Completing 2011 & Creating 2012 – Part 2: Creation | Adam Cohen

  2. Pingback: Completing 2012 & Creating 2013 – Part 1: Completion | Adam Cohen

Leave a Reply

